The Mystique of Being Female

   Believe it or not, I am actually a slight feminist. I say slight, because there are some facts of life I accept and I know they aren’t going anywhere. Like shaving my legs. I accept that I love to feed people, therefore love to cook, and my boyfriend is utterly helpless when it comes to laundry (“I just throw it all in and hope for the best.”) I do love dressing up, wine, and rom coms. These aspects of being female, for me, aren’t going anywhere.

   There seems to be a trend in the feminist movement where women want equality with men. Wait, let me rephrase that, women want to be men. Ladies, our femininity is mysteriously wonderful and beautiful – embrace it! Should we get equal pay? Absolutely. Should we hold equality in the legal system and the workplace? Of course. But when it comes to equality in the social scene, we are not, and will never be, the same as men. It’s comparing apples to oranges. We don’t need to be the same, but rather our inherent best.

   I had the pleasure to watch MissRepresentation, a documentary that explored the vast misrepresentation (clever name, eh?) of women in the media in today’s generation. I loved it and thought it was a great recount of how poorly women are illustrated. But we can do something about this! We can stop trying to be men, and embrace womanhood.

Live boldly. Embrace femininity. Stand together for for not necessarily equality, but rather unity.

Leave a Reply

