“You mean I am not lovable??”

Image

“You mean I am not lovable??”

Image

This quote, at first, unsettled me. Then I stewed in it for a bit. Then it clicked.

Jesus doesn’t love us because we are lovable. Meaning, he doesn’t love us because we are Catholic, Methodist, Muslim, Agnostic, or Jewish – he doesn’t love anyone because “I go to church every Sunday and complete the sacraments, and do good.” In fact he doesn’t love one person more over another. (How impossibly difficult this concept is to grasp as humans…) He IS love. All those do-good concepts that humans fashioned (IE go to church, practice chastity, complete sacraments of confession, confirmation and marriage) are not meant to make us “lovable” by God – they may, in my case, bring me closer to God and build a stronger relationship, but they do not, I repeat, do not, make me any more lovable than anyone else. He IS love.

Leave a Reply

