Fathers, Gardening, and TLC

Image

I was going to do a post on fathers (since it’s Father’s day and all) and I guess, in an indirect way, this is. But today, I want to talk about gardening.

The reason I say it is indirectly about fathers, is because my dad loved nothing more than a homegrown tomato sandwich in late August. Growing up we had homegrown tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, squash, and, of course, daffodils. Today, the sermon was about gardening. He told the parable of the three men who wanted to garden in the desert. The master gardener told them to spin the wheel once a day, while unbeknownst to the men, the wheel turned an irrigation system. (Which symbolizes the water of Christ’s work below us that we don’t see, but we have to turn the wheel.) You don’t need to know the parable to get the gist of what I’m saying. Which is this – gardening has been the most rewarding and edifying way to participate in my faith.

I don’t have a full garden – just some pots of herbs, tomatoes, and flowers. But this time of year, why wouldn’t you? It’s an excuse to be outside and in a way, I feel like a mother to my plants. Gardening has been a special test to my faith and patience. Today, my Cilantro and Basil were coming along quite well. I’ve been patiently waiting on the mint to come; but it’s been almost a month and a half of just soil with no progress. But finally this morning I noticed a little seedling.

I can talk metaphors all day – but I think you get the picture. Patience is one of the most difficult virtues. But it can also be the most rewarding. I aspire to lean my ear to God’s will each day and listen to it with patience. Maybe I need more watering or sun. Maybe I just need some TLC – and Christ, the original father, is always pleased to give some extra TLC.

To tie things up, I want to say Happy Father’s day to all the men who are, were, or are going to be fathers.  : )

Image  My dad with my sister and I in Yosemite in 2010.

Leave a Reply

