Eudaimonia – Christian or Not, Can We Flourish Together?

Image

 I didn’t make a conscious choice to be a Christian. Well, I suppose in a way I did, but I didn’t just wake up one day and say, “You know, I think I’m going to do this whole Catholicism thing.” Gradually, over time, little layers of Catholicism were peeled back, revealing a beautiful truth at each layer. They are still being peeled back, and God so help me, I hope the rest of my life I’m discovering new layers about life and love.

 Today I am reminded, first and foremost, the greatest change I can make is within myself. Quite frankly, missioning and evangelizing is exhausting and with such little turnout. Especially modern Christianity’s favorite way to recruit. (“Let’s patronize all the Atheists and non-Christians! If we make them feel shitty enough, they’ll start coming to church!”)

 When I go to bed at night, I find comfort saying, “No matter what, the great Catholic church and the faith of Christianity has gained one more soul. Me. And that matters. That makes all the difference in the world.” I can promote the beauty of the church teachings, I can advocate NFP, and  put my dollar in the basket each week, but what really counts at the end of the day is me. Not in a selfish, “I’m the center of the universe,” kind of way, but rather, “I’m fulfilling and reaching my best me, so the world can be a better place.” If everyone strives to be their best, maybe, just maybe we can reach a higher level of living and loving. There’s a term for this – coined by Aristotle, and it’s called “eudaimonia” meaning human flourishing.
  

 So. Are you in?

Leave a Reply

