On Being Young and Opinonated and Maybe a Punk

My dad always told me “You’re young. Things will change.”

At 15, I was a self-proclaimed atheist. Six years later, I am writing a blog called “20 something Catholic”. And six years from today, maybe I’ll be writing a memoir (do people write memoirs before they’re 30?) called “Atheist turned Catholic turned Buddhist”. I don’t know. Crazier things have happened.

Image   Like this….

Coming into Catholicism is a wonderful journey, that’s brought me boundless joy and peace, and I don’t by any means intend for it to be a “phase” – I hope it is a life-long journey. But sometimes it’s important for me to take a step back and consider the option that maybe things will change, maybe I’m wrong, or maybe I’m just a young, opinionated punk. Like this:

Image    Because if this doesn’t demand respect, I don’t know what does….

I admit readily and genuinely that I don’t know what it’s like to be in marriage practicing NFP. I have no idea what it’s like to have a husband away on business for weeks and come back just as phase 2 begins. I may sympathize, but I can’t empathize with what it feels like to have a 3 kids under 3 at 6 AM when the coffee maker overflows and it’s feeding time for baby Johnny but the dog just peed in the corner because the husband forgot to let her out. Maybe then I will feel differently about things (aka the institution of marriage, procreating, the idea that life is generally a good thing). Maybe I won’t. But at least being open gives a little room for God’s say.

It’s easy in your 20’s to say, “This is how the world’s problems need to be solved.” College campuses are rife with it. But we’re young; maybe things will change. In reality, our lives are much more simplified than full-time adults. Adulthood, as a I got a taste of it this past year working full time and supporting myself, is complicated. There’s so many bills, oil changes, budgets, fees, responsibilities, and appointments. And missing a deadline can yield a much worse consequence than a bad letter grade.

I’m not saying we shouldn’t stand up for what we believe, but I expect a dash of humility never hurts. If we are never open to other ideas, how are we to truly say that our views are right? If you never try chocolate ice cream your whole life, but staunchly purport that vanilla ice cream is the best, how can you be so sure? Can we be open to the idea that maybe, while we like vanilla ice cream, we may one day like chocolate ice cream better?

I receive heat sometimes for my opinions, especially since they have changed so recently and rapidly. For people that have known me longer than 2 years, they may wonder ‘What happened? When did you become so *shudder knee jerk dare-I-say-it* conservative?’ (Which, really I don’t know how I can be called a right wing crazy just because I prefer not to take hormones every day that could be potentially harmful…oh and I believe in God. Those together make me some deranged conservative?)

And honestly, the answer is I’m just on my journey. And maybe I’ll feel differently down the road. I’m at least open to the possibility that I’m young and things could change. I have one viewpoint that I hope never, ever, ever changes though:

Image

 

Leave a Reply

