16 Pointers to Being Young, Female, Broke and Joyful

1. If you have clothing that has a hole, stain, or rip in it – throw it out. There have been so many times that I want to keep that cami with the tiny hole in it, because it’s a useful piece of clothing and nobody really sees the hole anyways. But no – just no. I can do better.

2. Posture is so important. My mother always criticized me for “slouching”. Now I realize how important it is to stand tall. Not only does it look good, but also your body (namely your spine) will thank you in years to come!

3. You don’t have to be cool on a Friday night. I used to think I had to be doing something happening on a Friday night, otherwise I was a loser. So not true. If a glass of wine and a good movie calls your name, enjoy it. After all, there’s always Saturday night.

4. You know when you graduate high school, you think you leave all the gossip behind? False. Gossip thrives far past high school. And office gossip is not really that much more sophisticated than 3rd period-just-after-lunch-bell gossip. In my experience, I try as much as possible to stay out of office gossip. Losing a friend is one thing, but losing your reputation in the professional world can be detrimental to future accomplishments.

5. Make your own path – take what you like and leave the rest. Here I am laying out guidelines I formed for myself. But make your own! There is no one right way to success and happiness. There are plenty of definite wrong ways, but find your own right way.

6. Very rarely is it classy for bra straps to show. I mean there are exceptions (sports bras, bandeau, designer etc)

Like this….Image

But for the most part – just no.

7. Floss! And drink water!

8. The library is a budget-conscious lady’s best friend. (Hint: I get my magazines there for free!)

9. Traveling doesn’t have to break the bank. If you take advantage of flight deals (I get good deals through my airline credit card) and look into renting apartments short term rather than hotels, you can cut costs by cooking breakfast and lunch. Also free events are galore at universities, so if you’re near one, check out their events calendar.

10.  You can rewash and reuse freezer bags and sandwich bags a few times. Seems crazy, but you can cut down on spending by doing this.

11. Also, since we’re on the topic of reusing things – I have forever converted to the Softcup for my time of the month. It’s reusable, way more convenient, and cheaper than tampons.

Image   This product has been a lifesaver for me.

12. I buy all my birthday, greeting, thank-you, and wedding cards from the thrift store. They only cost a quarter a piece and they usually look good as new! (Make sure there’s no writing in them…I’ve only found a few that are actually “used”.)

13. If you’re in a serious relationship, make sure that person feels like gold. Every day. Not just on the birthdays, anniversaries, and holidays – every day.

Image     One Year Anniversary.

Image    Just going skiing for a Saturday. (I’m a very lucky girl.)

14. Put. Down. The. Phone. (And close the computer!) At least occasionally. I have to consciously make myself do this sometimes. Real life is right here. Right now.

15. Cutting on sleep doesn’t make you cool, tough, or impressive. We need sleep!

Image  The puppy gets it…

16. Lastly, live, love, and learn. Always. The moment we feel we’ve learned everything to be had, we stop living, therefore impeding our ability to love.

Image

5 responses to “16 Pointers to Being Young, Female, Broke and Joyful

  1. Hold on. Do you for reals use the soft cup for that time of the month?? I’ve just always assumed it would be so… gross. More than normal. Really? And you like it? Maybe I need to reconsider this.

    • Ohmygosh, girl, they’ve been a lifesaver. I mean, I can see why some would find them kinda gross, but it’s not any grosser than shoving cotton up there. Also, I haven’t paid a cent for feminine hygiene products in probably over a year. It’d definitely worth a shot! Also, tampons always made me feel bloaty. I could go on and on about the benefits of this wonderful product…they last for 12 hours, they’re reusable, they’re comfortable.

Leave a Reply

