Privacy – What’s That?

Privacy. What? What does that mean? This word, I have not heard before. Please expand on this concept.

Well gee. I’m not one to speak with authority on this, seeing as I write a blog, have a Facebook account, a Twitter account, a Pinterest account, oh the list could go on.

My generation knows very little about the word privacy. Here’s the technical definition:
Privacy – the state or condition of being free from being observed or disturbed by other people.

But what does it mean to you? How do you incorporate it into your daily life?
Growing up, my mom was always shocked by the details that were shared amongst my high school friends. She would comment, “I never disclosed such specifics with my peers about my relationships, health, or spirituality. Those things are just…private.” I scoffed, “Ha, you’re just old school. My generation is all about unreserved disclosure.” I think my thought process was something along the lines of, “If I tell this person this – they share something in return. It’s a give and take thing.”

I am reconsidering a lot of this right now. I need to incorporate more privacy into my life. That means I’m not really sure what direction to take this blog now. I want to be known as “20-something-Catholic”. Because after all, I am a twenty-something Catholic. But some private and intimate aspects of my life are simply that – private and intimate. Problem is, I may have already dished them out.

Tonight I shared dinner with wonderful people. Wonderful people who all share vastly different backgrounds, opinions, spiritual paths, and beliefs. And sometimes, I just don’t want to go there. I want to enjoy company without getting into the heat of religion and political talks. Conversely, for those that I share trust and respect with, I will freely talk with; but those two ingredients must be present.

It seems totally ironic to be talking about a private life, when so much of my blog talks about my spiritual journey. I don’t have an answer for that. I only ask, politely that respect play a huge role. Instead of “I divulge this secret – you divulge a secret,” perhaps it should be, “I respect what you decide to share and not to share – and you respect what I share or don’t share.”

Maybe privacy is a quality that I haven’t given enough credit in the last 22 years. Maybe it can do me a world of good.

Leave a Reply

