The Trifecta: Being Female, Catholic, and Young – It’s Not So Bad After All

I was having a discussion a few days ago about the whole “females need to be more empowered” issue. Finally I expressed, “I do feel empowered. If anything I feel I have an advantage as a female. Maybe it’s because of my white bread-middle-class-lifestyle, but I do not feel at all as if I have been jipped out of a better life because of my gender.”

For one, I find great joy in being female. I enjoy all aspects of it, in fact I don’t even feel disgrace with my awesome female cycles anymore, I strangely cherish them. I love being able to dress up, spend a night with my girlfriends, and don’t even get me started on how much I love shoes. Gender roles aside, I love to cook, watch football, play poker, and dance. A lot of women in this discussion claimed that they identified more with males, “I get along better with men,” was the talking point. And I’m thinking, “Really? Because I find an inherent connection with my female friends, that no matter how cool a dude is, I can’t call them a Universe sister.” I would never betray my gender because I am so blessed and proud to be female! Honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Yup, I had to bring up the Catholicism. I find great joy in it, because I am attaining a certain amount of peace, grace, and bliss. In this same discussion, people blamed monotheistic religions for the downfall of humankind. (Cuz, you know, before all these monotheistic religions came everyone was well and dandy, with no societal problems whatsoever.) No, being Catholic is not the popular choice and yes, I am ok with that. Call me your original hipster. (For more info on how Catholics are the original hipsters, check out this post.) In the last 2 years of coming into the Church, I have never felt more at peace with my anxieties, the complete unpredictability of life, and the sheer beauty of this world.

While we’re on the topic of unpredictability, that’s a nice segue into being young. I am young, and it’s awesome; because so much of my life is unwritten. And there is excitement, joy, and eagerness in this. I don’t have the answers, but it’s ok. I have no idea where I will be in 2 years, when or if I will have a family, what thrilling adventures will come my way. It’s all very exciting stuff and I intend on cherishing the unknown as much as possible. Now is the time of my life where I am learning who I am and what I want. (Check out this post, where I got the quote “Learn who you are, it’s not selfish, it’s necessary.”)

There you have it. I am female, Catholic, and young. And you betcha I wouldn’t have it any other way.
And your #hipstercatholic meme of the week:

Leave a Reply

