On Morocco, Kindara, and Wondering if I’ll Ever Graduate College

I have 3 really exciting announcements!

1. I am producing a promotional video for the School of Music at Montana State University. Which really means – I’m going to Morocco and Spain for two weeks in May to film! I am going to nerd out hardcore and visit all the Cathedrals I can while I’m in Spain – there’s so much rich Catholic history there. And Morocco, I am told to not show my hair. I know next to nothing about Moroccan history, so I need to read a condensed version of their history, culture, and traditions ASAP. (Any recommendations??) I think studying other cultures is so important – and this is a great opportunity to do something I love, travel, explore, and learn.

2. I have joined the team at Kindara, an iPhone fertility charting app, as promotional video and graphics editor. We’re in the process of brainstorming, to show how kick ass their app is, and spread the good news of Fertility Awareness! I will keep you in the loop and, of course, you will have to check the promos out when they’re finished. Kati Bicknell and Will Sacks (co-creators) are wonderful people to work with and they are very knowledgeable about the fertility charting world. (I was slightly envious when Kati said she’d met Toni Weschler…) They’ve got a great team with some insightful ideas, I can’t wait for them to come to fruition.

3. After much deliberation and one too many sleepless nights, I made the executive decision to cut back on class credits in favor of my outside work. (Sometimes I feel like I’ll be in school for forever – but hey, in this economy, staying in school sounds pretty appealing.) I technically have 4 outside regular jobs aside from school. On rare, cruel occasions, they all align on the same week or weekend. We get this idea that we’re not being productive if we’re not overwhelmed and swamped. Um, yea, that was me last semester. I scraped by, but there were a lot of things that I could have given more attention to and created a better product if I had allowed myself the time, instead of saying yes to everything. So this semester? More work, less school. I’m actually ok with this because it might mean that I can stop eating peanut butter sandwiches the whole last week of the month.  

In other not-so-exciting news, I submitted a piece of mine from PBS for a regional Emmy, so, that’d be cool. I probably don’t have a chance since it’s my first time, but fingers crossed.

So that’s what I’ve been up to….2013 is looking pretty good so far.

Leave a Reply

